Skip to page body Switch to mobile view Home About Us I Want To... Departments Government Residents Businesses Visitors

Historic Preservation

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
City of Eau Claire Landmarks Commission


The Eau Claire Landmarks Commission is a seven-member citizen board that is appointed by the City Council. The purpose of the Commission is to:
  • To encourage the preservation of our remaining landmark properties;
  • To assist in the stabilization and maintenance of the City’s older neighborhoods;
  • To provide educational activities which foster an appreciation of Eau Claire’s heritage.

Picture for Historic Preservation webpage (606 Fourth Ave)In 1982, the Commission and State Historical Society of Wisconsin (SHSW) conducted an Intensive Survey to identify properties and districts having historical or architectural significance that would be eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. A number of individual properties were identified, as well as three historic districts: Randall Park, the Third Ward, and the Emery Street Bungalow District. Most of these properties and the three districts were placed on the National Register in 1983.

Since then, the Commission has updated the City’s Intensive Survey 5 times, most recently in 2016.  These surveys were funded from grant funds awarded through the Certified Local Government grant program.  Additional historic districts designated in recent years because of these survey updates include: an expansion to the Third Ward Historic District, the Park Company District, Roosevelt Avenue District, Water Street Commercial District, and the Confluence Commercial District. 

The Commission has published a booklet describing each of properties and districts that have been designated to the National Register and local register.  Select this link to view the Landmarks Tour Booklet.  Historic sites listed within the booklet are organized into five geographically distinct areas: Downtown, West Side, Third Ward, East Side and North Side. Boundaries of each area can be seen on the included “Map of Historic Areas.”  A more detailed map is provided for each area, showing the locations of the historic sites within that area.  Each site is then linked to a color photograph and description of the associated property.  Also included is a brief history of the City of Eau Claire, as well as a Quick Reference Guide to architectural styles. 

The Commission meets on the first Monday of each month at 4:30 p.m. in the City Council Chambers at City Hall. All meetings are open to the public.

Current Commission Members Include:

  • Brady Foust 
  • John Mann
  • Joan Myer
  • Dale Poynter
  • Jane Seymour Kunick
  • Dave Strobel
  • Ken Ziehr
The Commission has also published other documents and records that provide additional information about Eau Claire’s past and built environment.  To learn more, select the links below.

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer